STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION COMMISSION OF PHARMACY January 26, 2022

10:00 a.m. The regular meeting of the Commission of Pharmacy was called to order by Commissioner DeFazio. The meeting was held virtually on Zoom.

Commissioners Present:	Angelo DeFazio, Chairperson Bryan Cafferelli Richard Carbray Mary Inguanti Kristin Linder
Staff Present:	Heather Hoynes, License and Applications Specialist Gina Samples, Board Administrator

Legal Matters

Case Number 2021-1684 Mark Sampieri

Attorney Katrina Cessno presented this case. Commissioner Cafferelli 'stepped down'. This case involved Prospective Licensee is a former Connecticut Pharmacist who voluntarily surrendered his license in 2021 following an investigation for restocking non-controlled medications that were returned to the pharmacy and were put on the shelf to be reused. Licensee has requested reinstatement of his pharmacy license and has agreed to the following proposed resolution.

Proposed Resolution:

Counsel for the Drug Control Division proposes an agreement in which prospective licensee shall be licensed as a Connecticut Pharmacist, but shall be subject to a twelve month probationary period during which he will neither work as a pharmacy manager nor serve as a preceptor or trainer for any pharmacy interns. During this period he shall also complete a designated pharmacy manager continuing education course and shall obey all state and federal laws and regulations related to pharmacy practice. He will also receive a letter of reprimand.

Commission Action: Commissioner Inguanti moved, seconded by Commissioner Carbray and passed by a vote of 4-0 to accept and approve the aforementioned settlement agreement.

Pharmacy Relocation(s)

Waterbury Pharmacy From: 197 E Main Street Waterbury, CT 06702 Samantha Brodnicki, Phar

To: 187 E Main Street Waterbury, CT 06702

Samantha Brodnicki, Pharmacy Manager

Commission Action: Commissioner Carbray moved, seconded by Commissioner Linder and passed by a vote of 5-0 to approve the above relocation request provided all the requirements set forth in the Connecticut Pharmacy and Drug Laws as enforced by the Commission of Pharmacy are met.

'First Time' Pharmacy Manager(s)

The following pharmacists presented themselves to the Commission of Pharmacy as 'first time' pharmacy managers in the State of Connecticut: Commissioner DeFazio provided a summary of the responsibilities that a first-time pharmacy manager has and appreciated their appearance before the Commission. Commissioner DeFazio emphasized the importance of the pharmacy manager's role in contrast to the front-store manager (in many retail settings). Some responsibilities include leadership, technician registration, license renewals, and prescription error reporting.

Antonia Alguist Sarita Britto Trina Dimella Fadriona Gaci Julie Falk Meryam Gharbi Ana Gomes Derek Lindia Nadia Mansouri Johanna Martinez Monica Oakes Thomas Padrevita Joshua Pruitt Regina Yawson Cailin Wadja Faseeh Farooa Helal Biswas

Not in Attendance

Mohammed Kalam

CVS Pharmacy – West Hartford CVS Pharmacy – Ansonia CVS Pharmacy – Meriden CVS Pharmacy – New Haven CVS Pharmacy – Meriden Walgreens Pharmacy – Norwich Medley Mail Service Pharmacy - New Haven CVS Pharmacy – Putnam CVS Pharmacy – Brooklyn CVS Pharmacy - Bridgeport CVS Pharmacy – Plymouth Walgreens Pharmacy - Enfield Cardinal Health - East Hartford Walareens Pharmacy – Vernon Nutmeg Pharmacy – Taftville Medley Mail Service Pharmacy - Stamford Walgreens – Norwich

Bridgeport Community Pharmacy – Bridgeport

Miscellaneous Matters

Mylyfe Pharmacy – Enfield, CT

Jeff Lagasse, Pharmacy Manager is requesting pharmacy to be open less than 35 hours a week.

Commission Action: Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner Inguanti and passed by a vote of 5-0 to grant the request coterminous with the Governor's Executive Order 71 emergency plan extended until February 15, 2022. If there is no extension to the order pharmacy hours will revert back to 35 hours minimum a week.

Nancy Babbar is requesting to waive 2020 and 2021 CE Credit requirements. **Commission Action:** Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner In and passed by a vote of 5-0 to grant the license renewal and waive the Live CE Credits. Contingent on completing the CE credits for a total of 30 to be in compliance for 2020 and 2021, this needs to be verified by the board of pharmacy and completed by May 25, 2022. If the requirement is not met the license will be revoked by June 1, 2022.

Jill Strykowski is asking for an extension to complete her CE credits 2020 and 2021. **Commission Action:** Commissioner DeFazio moved, seconded by Commissioner Cafferelli and passed by a vote of 5-0 to grant the extension and waive the Live CE Credits. Contingent on completing the CE credits for a total of 30 to be in compliance for 2020 and 2021, this needs to be verified by the board of pharmacy and completed by May 25, 2022. If the requirement is not met the license will be revoked by June 1, 2022.

Request(s) for Non-Resident Pharmacy Approval

Chewy Pharmacy, LLC – Pittston, PA 18640 Healthcare Pharmacy LLC – Phoenix, AZ 85029 H&N Pharmacy – Coral Gables, FL 33134 Mylyfe Specialty Pharmacy – West Springfield, MA 01089 Roman Health Pharmacy LLC – Phoenix, AZ 85021 Staywell Pharmacy Corp. DBA Staywell Pharmacy – Palatine, IL 60074 **Commission Action:** Commissioner Caffarelli moved, seconded by Commissioner Carbray and passed by a vote of 5-0 to accept the above non-resident pharmacy applications. ASPN Pharmacies, LLC – Livingston, NJ 07039 Brigham and Women's Hospital Outpatient Pharmacy – Boston, MA 02115 Curexa East LLC (DBA Curexa) – Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234 Daksha SaiRam LLC DBA Family Specialty Pharmacy – West Windsor, NJ 08550 Eastern States Compounding Pharmacy – Littleton, NH 03561 NYRX INC – Cortland Manor, NY 10567

Commission Action: Commissioner Inguanti is requesting additional documents for the above non-resident pharmacy applications for further review.

Approval to Accept Commission of Pharmacy Meeting Minute(s)

November 24, 2021

Commission Action: Commissioner Caffarelli moved, seconded by Commissioner Inguanti and passed by a vote of 5-0 to accept the above Commission of Pharmacy Meeting Minutes.

There being no further business, Commissioner DeFazio adjourned the meeting.

Respectively Submitted,

<u>Angelo De Fazio</u>

Angelo DeFazio, Chairperson

Prepared by

Gina Samples Gina Samples, Board Administrator